Arizona @ Your Service AZPPSE Home Page
     
   
   
 
You Are Here:
 
Listings

 

Notice to Alarm Companies
On May 1, 2013, the Arizona State Board of Technical Registration (BTR) started enforcing HB 2748, signed into law in the 2012 legislative session, which assigns statewide responsibility for regulation of alarm businesses and agents to BTR.
While May 1, 2013, is the day set for BTR to assume the responsibility for regulating alarm businesses and alarm agents, alarm businesses do not need to be certified until October 1, 2013. Any alarm company operating after October 1, 2013, must be certified by the Board unless exempted by law. (A.R.S. 32-121). Alarm system, Alarm Business, Alarm Agent and Controlling Person are defined in A.R.S. 32-101.B.
On July 11, 2013, the Board received a formal Attorney General Opinion  (No. I13-001) regarding its regulation of the Alarm Industry pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-121, § 32-122.05 and § 32-122.06.  To read the Opinion click here
 
Please note that alarm businesses that provide products or services beyond installation (i.e.: selling, leasing, monitoring, renting, maintaining or repairing, pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-101(B)(4),) must obtain a certification from the Board before October 1, 2013.  Firms found to be in violation of the certification requirement after October 1, 2013 may be subject to enforcement action.
 
The Board will process all applications when they are completed, within 10 days of receipt of required fingerprint background checks.  Applications can be submitted by mail or at the Board office.
 
Alarm businesses and agents will be subject to all the laws and rules that apply to the Board’s licensed populations.
Due to the late receipt of Attorney General Opinion I13-001, and the time required to obtain FBI fingerprint clearance, the Board will not begin enforcement action against alarm businesses and their agents who have submitted applications for certification to the Board by the legislatively mandated date of October 1, 2013.   Alarm businesses and agents who have not submitted required applications to the Board by October 1, 2013 may be subject to enforcement action.  If you have any questions, please contact the Board.
           
At its April 2013 meeting the Board set the following fees:
         Alarm Firm application                                  $20
         Alarm firm certification                                  $40   (2 years)
         Controlling Person                                        $65    (1 year verification)
Alarm Agent                                             $130 (2 year application and certification)            
NOTE:   BTR HAS BEEN GRANTED PERMISSION TO ISSUE AN INITIAL ONE YEAR AGENT CERTIFICATION OR A TWO YEAR INITIAL AGENT CERTIFICATION TO AGENTS OF APPLYING FIRMS IN ORDER TO EVEN OUT THE AGENCY REVENUE FLOW. ALL RENEWALS WILL BE FOR TWO YEARS.

Alarm forms were revised on July 18, 2013.  Please ensure you use the most current form or your application may be returned.

Alarm Business Application Packet

Controlling Person Verification Packet 

Alarm Agent Application Packet

 

 

ADEQ

Applications
Miscellaneous Forms

Copyright 2007 // Privacy Policy // Accessibility // Log In
1110 W. Washington #240, Phoenix, AZ 85007

AZ.gov Arizona State Board for Private Postsecondary Education BTR Home Page AZ.GOV – Arizona’s Official Web Site